Printing a Long Text field of a selected row?

Hi all,

Really like all the features of Seatable and the flexibility of Buttons and Scripts!

But is it possible to print a Long text field of a selected row from the GUI or from a javascript?
This way I can print a welcome letter or whatever letter for a selected person/row (using regex to change placeholders to CurrentRpw.values)

The new print (seatable 2.1) is nice but print all records in a view as a grid.

Kind regards
FolkertH

Hi FolkertH,

welcome to the SeaTable Forum.
Have you tried the Page Design plugin? It’s a really powerful publishing tool and can turn your rows into nice pages.

Just add it to your base and then open the Page Design plugin and place the long text field on the page, adjust the style and print it to paper or to PDF.

Hello Karlheinz,

Thanks for your fast answer.
Page Design works very nice. As an admin I can use it to design nice, personalized letters to a selected row/member. But is it possible to use a Button-script on the selected member-record to directly print a Page Designed letter for only that selected Member?

Grusse,
FolkertH

This is possible! I prepared a little how-to to demonstrate it (to enlarge the video, right click it and open in a new tab):

CreatingDocumentsWithPageDesign

I stopped the video when the printer settings pop up appears. Then you can print the document either on paper or as a PDF.

Anticipating a follow-up question: Unfortunately, you cannot create a PDF using the page design plugin and save it straight in a file column in a SeaTable table. This is not supported yet.

Thanks @rdb for the video. And yes - with the button you can open the page design for the current row, which is really amazing in SeaTable 2.1.

As per the PDF export feature - with only two more clicks, you can choose print to PDF in the system printer settings and get a PDF - so this is not an issue for now! Anyway I heard we are developing the “export to PDF” feature.

Hello Ralf